Walking on water

I stood at the edge of the boat, closed my eyes, then walked off.
I put my trust in a man I have known for barely three years, for he asked me to come and I walked off.

How can a man walk on water?
Here I am sinking ,  I Peter,  a master fisherman would meet his demise at sea, how ironic. 
I never thought I would end this way.  Seems I would never get to see the beautiful smile that runs across my wife’s face, hold my beautiful daughter in my arms and tell my son of my adventures at sea.

Maybe John would break the news. I hope he doesn’t tell them I walked off,  I hope he lets me die a hero in their eyes.

As the cold hands of the sea drags me in,  every passing moment seems to make my thoughts clearer and more focused. All I now see is him,  standing on the waters,  watching, waiting. 

Suddenly,  I remember who he is, He’s not just a man, he’s more than that.  He’s God.

I muster all my strength and cry out “master save me”, Immediately, I feel strong arms gently pulling me out of water unto the water.
It was mind boggling as the waters gave way to let me pass then  felt rock solid as I stood on it side by side with him.  We then turn towards the boat and walk back to it.

Here I am,  standing at the edge of the boat,  wondering if all this was just a nightmare. Then I hear my clothes dripping on the floor board, reminding me of its reality.

Leave a comment