The betrayal part of 2

Part 2
I warmed myself close to the fire in the courtyard while the priests deliberated his fate inside. I could see him from my distance. I couldn’t quite read His facial expression but He stood so quietly, like a lamb who knew it’s death was imminent. Their fingers kept pointing in accusation, He remained silent.

  Just then, a servant girl walked past staring at me as she did. I became apprehensive because the stare seemed to me to be like that of recognition. Then, she opened her mouth and spilled those foul words while pointing at me: “he’s one of Jesus’ followers”. My heart skipped right into my mouth and without thinking I blurted out “woman, I don’t even know him!”

Luckily that shut her up. Not long after, another nosey man spoke up,  saying the very same thing as the maid, this time, I was even more vehement in my reply: “I do not know that man”. It worked. He kept quiet. In fact, the night seemed to get even more quiet at that point.

About an hour later, someone else got up and vehemently insisted saying ” Surely, this must be one of them, he’s from Galilee too “. Now in a blind fear-filled rage, I said “I do not know what you’re talking about”.

Immediately, I heard the most horrific sounding crow a rooster could muster. And from that distance, I saw him turn and his eyes met mine.  My knees buckled, I felt my heart bleed as tears blinded my eyes, I tried to choke back the tears but I just couldn’t. Then my whole life with him flashed before my eyes. I couldn’t believe he was right, I couldn’t believe that I actually did it. I didn’t just deny Him, I did so thrice. I ran away to be alone,  I had just denied my friend, my master, my teacher, I denied him tonight, just as He said that I would… But I didn’t believe Him then, till I saw it happen,till I made it happen.

Leave a comment